Edgar Jones and The Joneses ‘Gettin’ A Little Help CD/DL-043

043Edgar Jones and The Joneses ‘Gettin’ A Little Help CD/DL-043

Released: July 2007, CD-Download

Edgar Jones and The Joneses return with their magical new album ‘Gettin’ A little Help’ on the 30th of July. As with the critically acclaimed and Mercury nominated debut album ‘ Soothing Music for Stray Cats ‘, it continues to set the standards. The music is timeless and a perfect combination of R ‘n’ B, Soul, Jazz, mixed with Edgar’s own special ingredients. It’s the sound of an extraordinary band striving to develop. Once again a classic benchmark album.


1. The Way It Is
2. We Should Get Together
3. Necessary Evil
4. Mellow Down Pussycat
5. More Than You’ve Ever Had
6. Need For Lovin’
7. Summertyme
8. ( Ain’t Gonna Be The ) Fool No More
9. You Better Watch Your Back
10. About Time
11. She Don’t Know Me (At All!)
12. Short Prayer For The Emancipation of The Deserved Parts 1 & Part 2
  • ‘Jones scats, bellows and drawls his way through ska side ‘Mellow Down Pussycat’, the devilish blues of ‘Necessary Evil’, the shiny beast-era Captain Beefheart of ‘The Way It Is’ 4 Stars Louis Wilson , MOJO , Aug 2007
  • ‘Scouse scenesters winning Blues/Jazz soup – It’s the sound of a man who is, in every sense, doing his own thing’ Q Recommended Ian Harrison, Q Magazine, Aug 2007
  • ‘Edgar ‘Jones’ Jones is a singular character – A man apart’ Dorian Lynskey, The Guardian, July 2007
  • ‘Liverpool’s answer to Dr.John – should have walked away with last year’s Mercury Music Prize – A multi-talented musician’ Paul Moody, Uncut, Oct 2007
  • ‘The second coming of Liverpool’s doo wopping king of hot-doggin’ rhythm and blues proved as sassy, accomplished and unique as his debut’ No 37 in Mojo’s Top albums of 2007